- The Pass Rate Reality: What ISA Does and Does Not Publish
- Why a Single Pass Rate Would Be Misleading: Two Components
- Anatomy of the Written Exam: 65 Items, 50 Scored
- Where Candidates Actually Fail: The Outdoor Skills Assessment
- Why Third-Party Failure Percentages Do Not Hold Up
- The Filters Before Exam Day
- What a Failed Attempt Costs
- Turning the Data Into a Readiness Plan
- Frequently Asked Questions
- ISA has not publicly disclosed a pass rate for the Certified Tree Climber credential in any source we reviewed.
- Passing requires two separate hurdles: at least 80% on the written exam and 70% on skills.
- The written exam has 65 questions, but only 50 are scored; 15 are unscored pretest items.
- Skills passing needs at least 27 of 38 points with every critical requirement satisfied.
The Pass Rate Reality: What ISA Does and Does Not Publish
If you searched for the ISA Certified Tree Climber pass rate hoping for a tidy percentage, here is the honest answer: the International Society of Arboriculture does not publish one in the issuer sources we reviewed. The program guide, the exam information page, the examination outline, and the common-questions table all describe what you must score to pass. None of them report how many candidates actually do.
That distinction matters, and it is the single most misunderstood point in this topic. A passing score is a threshold: the minimum performance you must demonstrate. A pass rate is an outcome statistic: the share of past candidates who cleared that threshold. ISA publishes the first and, as far as we can verify, not the second. For the exact thresholds, see our companion guide on the CTW passing score.
This article therefore does something different from most "pass rate" pages. Rather than inventing a number, it shows what the verifiable data does tell you: how the exam is built, where the structure creates risk, and what each failed attempt costs. Those facts are a better planning tool than any unsourced percentage.
Why a Single Pass Rate Would Be Misleading: Two Components
Even if ISA did publish a figure, a single number would blur two very different tests. The Certified Tree Climber credential has a computer-based or paper written examination and a separate outdoor skills assessment. Passing both is required unless an approved exception applies.
| Feature | Written Examination | Outdoor Skills Assessment |
|---|---|---|
| Format | 65 multiple-choice items, four options each, one correct | Equipment inspection, six knot demonstrations, timed work climb |
| Time | 90 minutes | Maximum 45-minute climb; 30-minute full-credit target |
| Passing criterion | At least 80% | At least 70%, minimum 27 of 38 points, all critical requirements satisfied |
| Delivery | Pearson VUE testing centers (computer) or paper via ISA Certification Partners | Arranged through ISA Certification Partners |
| What it measures | Knowledge across five weighted domains | Physical competency, gear handling, and safe technique |
A candidate can be strong on one component and weak on the other. Someone with years in the canopy may know the work cold yet stumble on a question about terminology or standards. A person who memorized a study guide may know the theory yet freeze on a knot demonstration. Any blended statistic would hide exactly the information you need to prepare. The practical takeaway: treat these as two independent exams and prepare for each on its own terms.
Anatomy of the Written Exam: 65 Items, 50 Scored
The written exam contains 65 multiple-choice questions to be completed in 90 minutes. Of those 65, 15 are unscored pretest items that ISA uses to evaluate future questions. That leaves 50 scored questions. This is a subtraction, not an addition: it is not "65 scored plus 15 more." Some third-party practice sites describe the structure incorrectly, so verify against the issuer's program guide.
Because you cannot tell which items are unscored, you must treat every question as if it counts. The 80% written threshold applies to the scored portion. The exam is closed-book, phones and reference materials are prohibited, and breaks count against your time. We did not verify calculator or adaptive-testing policies, so do not assume either.
The five domains and where the points live
The current written exam is built on five weighted domains from the ISA Certified Tree Climber Examination Outline (2024 file, based on the 2022 job-task analysis). These weights describe the written exam only; they are not practical-station allocations and not chapters of any study book. For a deeper walkthrough, read our complete guide to all 5 content areas.
Domain 1: Safety (26%)
The largest slice of the written exam, and also the area where mistakes carry the highest real-world consequences.
- Personal protective equipment and climbing-equipment standards
- Hazard recognition before and during the climb
- Rescue readiness and emergency response
Domain 2: Tree Climbing and Rigging (22%)
Technique, systems, and load handling in the tree.
- Climbing systems, anchoring, and movement
- Rigging principles and force considerations
- Knots and hitches and their appropriate uses
Domain 3: Tree Removal (22%)
Planning and executing removals safely.
- Assessing the tree and the target zone
- Cutting methods and controlled lowering
- Communication and work-zone management
Domain 4: Tree Identification and Health (10%)
The smallest domain, but easy points for candidates who respect it.
- Recognizing common tree structure and defects
- Understanding how health and condition affect climbing decisions
Domain 5: Pruning (20%)
Pruning objectives, cuts, and practices.
- Proper cut placement and technique
- Pruning types and their purposes
- Avoiding damage to the tree
Do the arithmetic: Safety, Climbing and Rigging, and Removal together account for 70% of the written exam. A candidate who is thin in those three areas has little room to recover through the remaining 30%. This is the structural reason the written exam is more demanding than it first appears for people who climb every day but rarely think about formal standards.
Where Candidates Actually Fail: The Outdoor Skills Assessment
Because ISA does not publish outcome statistics, we cannot tell you which component produces more failures, and we will not pretend otherwise. What we can do is show you how the skills assessment is structured, because its scoring mechanics create specific, avoidable failure points.
Points and critical requirements
The skills assessment requires at least 70%, which means a minimum of 27 of 38 points, and all critical requirements satisfied. That second condition is the trap. You can accumulate enough points and still fail if you commit a critical failure. According to the 2024 Skills Test Evaluation Form, the assessment covers equipment inspection, six knot demonstrations at one minute per knot, critical failures, and tasks related to movable rope system (MRS) and stationary rope system (SRS) setups.
Timing: the climb clock
The work climb allows a maximum of 45 minutes. The clock starts at the first rope throw. There is a 30-minute full-credit target: exceeding it incurs a three-point timing deduction, and exceeding 45 minutes fails the task. Three points matters when your cushion is 11 points between the 38 available and the 27 you need. Preparatory equipment inspection and the knot demonstrations are separate from the timed climb, so do not confuse the 90-minute written limit, the 45-minute climb ceiling, and the 30-minute scoring target. They are three different clocks.
Key Takeaway
Rehearse the full sequence under a timer starting from the first rope throw, and practice the six knots at one minute each. A quiz score cannot substitute for physical fluency. Our difficulty guide breaks down why the practical side surprises written-focused candidates.
Competition waivers: narrower than they sound
ISA does offer an approved competition-based waiver, but it concerns the work-climb portion only. Completing all specified TCC or ITCC events, gear inspection, six knots, and evaluator documentation is still required. It is not a blanket waiver of the skills requirements, so do not plan around skipping the whole practical.
Why Third-Party Failure Percentages Do Not Hold Up
If you have seen a confident "X% of candidates fail" claim on a study site or forum, treat it with skepticism. We found no issuer source that supports third-party failure percentages for this credential. Several things make such figures unreliable:
- No official denominator. Without ISA publishing attempt and pass counts, any percentage is an estimate at best and an invention at worst.
- Two components. A figure that does not say whether it refers to the written test, the skills assessment, or the combined credential is meaningless.
- Reversed thresholds in older handbooks. Some older materials reverse the written and skills passing percentages relative to the current 80% written and 70% skills. A statistic built on those older numbers describes a different test.
- Anecdote bias. Candidates who post on forums skew toward those with questions, complaints, or nervousness, not a representative sample. Forum threads do show real demand for explanations about gear, knots, timing, and waivers, but they do not establish current rules.
The same caution applies to other claims you may encounter. At least one practice site describes 65 scored questions plus 15 unscored items and lists a $75 retake fee. Both conflict with the issuer's current guide, which gives 65 total items including 15 unscored, and a $120 retake fee. When a site gets verifiable structural facts wrong, its performance claims deserve even less trust.
The Filters Before Exam Day
One reason a pass rate would be hard to interpret even if published is that the credential has real prerequisites. Many unprepared people never reach the exam at all. To apply, candidates need:
- At least 18 months of arboricultural climbing experience, documented with appropriate employer evidence. Self-employed or business-owner applicants submit three references, which may be dated invoices, contracts, or business licenses documenting the climbing work.
- Current hands-on CPR and first-aid training, and physical aerial-rescue training, each completed within the preceding year.
- Agreement to ISA's ethics and credentialing requirements.
No mandatory academic degree or fixed training-hour total was verified. Note that enrolling in a training course is not the same as applying for the ISA exam; the application is a separate step with its own documentation. Full details are in our guide to CTW requirements. Because of this experience filter, the candidate pool is largely people who already climb for a living, which is a further reason raw failure percentages from other credentials should never be imported here.
For testing logistics, Pearson VUE physical testing centers deliver the computer-based written exam, with a 120-day authorization window and two required identification documents whose names match the application. A remote-proctored route was not verified. Scheduling specifics are in our exam dates guide.
What a Failed Attempt Costs
Even without a published pass rate, you can quantify the downside of failing. The numbers below come from ISA's current materials.
| Item | Amount (USD) | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Application fee | $40 (ISA members/current credential holders) or $50 (others) | Paid when applying |
| Enrollment fee (discounted group) | $295 | Applies to the discounted group |
| Standard enrollment | $369 or $396 | Conflict between official sources; see below |
| Retake | $120 | After a required 30-day wait |
| Recertification (three-year cycle) | $220 | $95 for each additional credential where the multiple-credential policy applies |
The $120 retake fee looks modest, but the 30-day wait is the bigger cost. If you fail the written exam, you lose at least a month of progress toward a credential you may need for a job, a promotion, or a certification-pay supplement. Whether the credential pays for itself is a separate question we address in our ROI analysis, where we separate occupation-wide tree trimmer wages from employer-specific incentives rather than claiming a universal premium.
Turning the Data Into a Readiness Plan
Without a pass rate to anchor your expectations, the most rational approach is to prepare against the structure itself. Since the weights are known, schedule your time in proportion to them. This is the one place where a study calendar earns its keep, and it is tied directly to the blueprint.
Safety first (26%)
- Equipment standards, inspection logic, and hazard recognition
- Aerial rescue and emergency concepts, aligned with your required training evidence
Climbing and Rigging plus Removal (22% each)
- Climbing systems, MRS versus SRS, knots, and rigging forces
- Removal planning, cutting methods, and controlled lowering
Pruning (20%) and Identification/Health (10%)
- Cut placement and pruning objectives
- Defect recognition that affects climbing decisions
Timed simulations
- Full written practice sets under a 90-minute clock
- Physical rehearsal of inspection, six knots, and the climb sequence
Two cautions on resources. First, the official Tree Climbers' Guide, Fourth Edition (2021), is a legitimate preparation publication, but ISA states that the book and the certification exams are developed through separate processes. Its chapters do not replace the examination outline and do not establish exhaustive exam coverage. Second, an original practice bank is useful for the written side, and our practice test maps questions to the five weighted areas, but a quiz score is not physical competency. Pair question practice with real rope time. For a compact refresher, the one-page cheat sheet is a handy final review.
Key Takeaway
Because the true pass rate is unpublished, measure yourself against the thresholds instead: 80% on scored written items, and 27 of 38 skills points with zero critical failures. If your practice results sit comfortably above those lines, you are prepared regardless of what any forum claims.
Frequently Asked Questions
ISA has not publicly disclosed a pass rate in the issuer sources we reviewed. Any specific percentage you find elsewhere is unsupported. What is public are the passing criteria: at least 80% on the written exam and 70% on skills, with a minimum of 27 of 38 skills points and all critical requirements satisfied.
There are 65 multiple-choice questions in total, each with four options and one correct answer. Fifteen of those are unscored pretest items, so 50 are scored. You have 90 minutes, and you cannot identify which questions are unscored, so answer every item carefully.
Yes, passing both components is required unless an approved exception applies. The competition-based waiver covers only the work-climb portion, and you must still complete gear inspection, the six knots, and evaluator documentation. It is not a blanket exemption from the skills requirements.
You must wait 30 days before retaking, and the retake fee is $120. Some third-party sites list a lower figure, such as $75, but that conflicts with the issuer's current guide. Always confirm current fees with ISA before paying.
The credential was renamed ISA Certified Tree Climber in 2023, and the issuer uses the abbreviation CTC. The former name remains a common search term and appears on older materials, which is why you may still see it. Both refer to the same credential. Learn more in What Is CTW?.